Music in Your Heart

I love to sing. I didn’t say I do it well, just that I love to do so. Something about music lifts up my heart and makes my day a little bit better, gives me hope. I love to sing hymns, especially when the message taught in the hymn reminds me of our Savior’s love.

Sunday’s opening hymn, Crown Him with Many Crowns, reminded us of the following: “Crown him the Lord of love; behold his hands and side, rich wounds, yet visible above, in beauty glorified.” The author reminds us that Jesus was wounded and died for our sins, and that his wounds are still visible in heaven, an eternal reminder of God’s love for us.

The apostle Paul understood the power of song. He instructed the believers in Ephesus, “Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ” (Ephesians 5:19, 20). He also told the church at Colossae, “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God” (Colossians 3:16).

I’ve always loved music, and yet, the songs I sang were not always the most uplifting. Some were fun and catchy, while others lamented lost relationships or other problems, and the messages the songs celebrated weren’t always the most beneficial. In fact, when I listen to some of that music today I am often shocked at messages that I either didn’t recognize or didn’t care about back then. The old children’s song says, “Be careful, little ears, what you hear.” We listen to a lot of things each day—radio, conversations, TV, commercials, etc.—but fail to consciously recognize much of it, even though it may find a place deep within our memories. If you doubt this, just notice what happens when someone starts singing an old commercial ditty. You might find yourself singing along, without even realizing you knew the tune.

What we place in our minds and in our hearts will influence who we become and the choices we will make. Although I still listen to many different kids of music, I try to be conscious of what I spend most of my time with. I still sing some of the old songs and laugh with my old friends about them, but I’m more careful today about my focus, being careful about the “treasure” I place in my heart. Christian music, hymns, choruses, these are the tunes I hum throughout my day, the words and the tunes that give me hope in my lowest moments and peace when I’m struggling.

 Make music in your hearts, my friends, and fill it with words of hope and joy, the themes of redemption and forgiveness, and the truths of God’s peace and love, always giving thanks for all God has done for you.

Blessings,

Pastor Mary Kay Glunt

revmkg@sbcglobal.net

One thought on “Music in Your Heart

Leave a Reply

